Clinical Center News
Summer 2018

U.S. Public Health Service nurses at the NIH Clinical Center receive high honors

Leslie Wehrlen holds a plaque
CDR Leslie Wehrlen, a Senior Nurse Consultant with the Clinical Center's Nursing Department.
Neil Barranta holds a plaque
LT Neil Barranta, the Clinical Center Nursing Department's Clinical Manager of 3 SWS-Intensive Care Unit.

Two Clinical Center U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS) nurses recently received high honors from the USPHS Nurse Professional Advisory Committee.

LT Neil Barranta, the Clinical Center Nursing Department's Clinical Manager of 3 SWS-Intensive Care Unit, was given The 2018 Nurse Responder of the Year Award. The award was given to him for his leadership contributions during the unprecedented back to back deployment in Hurricanes Harvey and Irma, and for his outstanding commitment in supporting the mission of the NIH in emergency preparedness and management of future Ebola treatment. In addition, he also co-authored articles that were published in Commissioned Officers Association Frontline magazine and Junior Officer Chronicle magazine regarding the recent disaster response from Hurricane Harvey, Irma and Maria. 

CDR Leslie Wehrlen, a Senior Nurse Consultant with the Clinical Center's Nursing Department, earned the RADM O. Marie Henry Publication Award for Clinical Nursing Practice as first author of the publication Systematic collection of patient reported outcome research data: A checklist for clinical research professionals, which was published in Contemporary Clinical Trials. The award recognizes publications that describe trends in clinical nursing practice and clinical nursing research.

In 2016, both Wehrlen and Barranta were also recipients of USPHS Nurse Professional Advisory Committee Minnegerode Awards for Nursing Excellence.

The U.S. Public Health Service Nurse Professional Advisory Committee awards recognize contributions by Commissioned Corps, Civil Service and Tribal Direct hire nurses of outstanding and sustained nature, which have greatly impacted the mission of the USPHS. The awards were presented at the USPHS Scientific and Training Symposium in June 2018.

Karen Baker, Dr. Colleen Hadigan and Victoria Anderson stand in a hallway.
Dr. Daniel Kastner examining a patient at the NIH Clinical Center
A nurse provides Dr. Anthony Fauci a flu shot
Food allergy
NIH staff gather at a relay race at the NIH Clinical Center
Dr. Gilman speaks at a podium
Four people listen to a dietician speak about the Nutrition Department while a employee preps food
Prediction and probability maps from prostate cancer researchers
Dr. Francis Collins, Shawn Thomas and Dr. Jim Gilman stand on stage as Thomas holds a plaque
Two men up close to the MRI magnet, outside
Dr. Christopher Pleyer, Dr. Kelly Stone and Dr. Robert Lembo stand in front of a screen that says Distinguished Clinical Teacher Award Winner. Stone holds a plaque
Artwork decorates stairwells
Dr. William Ward speaks at a podium and a screen behind him is a poster that says Immunohematology & Blood Transfusion, 27th Annual Symposium
Four students and a teacher hold an oversized check to benefits patients at the NIH Clinical Center
Senior leaders at NIH cut a ribbon opening two hospice suites at the Clinical Center
Laptop with stethoscope nearby
Patient Photography Studio
Dr. Francis Collins, director of the NIH sties in a chair to the left. Barbra Streisand holds a microphone and sits in a chair to the right – speaks to the audience
Dr. James Gilman stands with Alba C. Murphy as they smile and hold a certificate
A paper cutout of a hand shape with a stick on the end. Text on the paper says I [heart] clean hands
Patient with Degos disease addresses symposium attendees
CDC and NIH representatives stand in a special isolation patient room at the NIH Clinical Center
Eight young men and women line up holding graduation certificates in Lipsett Auditorium
A four panel exhibit with photos, text and artifacts on NIH medical pioneers Christian Anfinsen and Michael Potter
NIH Clinical Center volunteer Chaoyang Wang
Woman with scientific cap on her head plays a touch game
Doctors at NIH speak in a lecture hall during Nurses Week
NIH Clinical Center doctor receives award
Children participate in Take Your Child to Work Day Hematology Lab
Leslie Wehrlen holds a plaque.
Sixteen women, graduates of the program and departmental leaders, gather for a photo
Pius Aiyelawo swearing into the Senior Executive Service with Dr. Lawrence Tabak
Jackson Taylor (right) and his donor Sean McLaughlin (left)
Dr. Thomas Burklow
Two care providers look at a computer
Child reading a book
NIH employee, Ricky Day, trys the prototype device
U.S. Surgeon General Dr. Jerome Adams tours Clinical Center with CC CEO Dr. James K. Gilman
First Lady Melania Trump gets together with five children to pose for a picture
Patient and doctor
Harold Varmus, Robert Frasca, Mark Hatfield and John Gallin at the groundbreaking of the hospital's new addition
Black and White photo of the first meeting of the National Advisory Eye Council (13 men) gathering on steps
Jim Gilman at Town Hall in Masur Auditorium
Martha Rinker, speaker from the non-profit National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD), addresses the audience on Rare Disease Day Feb. 29, 2016, at the NIH Clinical Center.
Betsy Furlong inspects the UV Illuminator cassette.
In January 2016, Dr. Robert Watcher visited the NIH and presented at a Contemporary Clinical Medicine: Great Teachers Lecture.
Scientists at the National Institutes of Health have identified a genetic mutation responsible for a rare form of inherited hives induced by vibration.
The atrium gift shop recently re-opened under management of the Foundation for the Advancement of Education in the Sciences
Avish Parashar brought audience members on stage to showcase that planning is important, but the ability to improvise is essential during a seminar on Dec. 3.
The open forum of the town hall provided an opportunity for staff to learn about Building 10 updates and offer input.